Home - Berlin Embassies

Contact the Embassies

The Embassy of Namibia


Address : Reichsstrasse 17, Berlin, D-14052

Tel.:(+49) 30 254 09 50

Fax :(+49) 30 254 095 55

E-mail : namibiaberlin@aol.com



The Ambassador

Amb. Andreas Benjamen Dawid Guibeb

Namibia - Andreas B.D.Guibeb.jpg

Amb. Guibeb is a career diplomat. He was first state secretary in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Autonomous Republic of Namibia, which today is known as the Ministry of International Relations and Cooperation. He also headed the negotiation team who worked on the state succession of Namibia from South Africa, as well as the reintegration of Walvis Bay and the islands close to Wavis Bay. He was high comissioner of the Republic of Namibia within the Republic of Zambia and Director of  the Board of the state airline company, Air Namibia.

During his term in office, Amb. Guibeb has further developed the bilateral relations between Namibia and Germany on the foundation of his predecessors, Nora Schimming-Chase, Ambassador Hinyangerwa P. Asheeke, Ambassador Hanno Rumpf, Ambassador Prof. Peter H. Katjavivi and Ambassador Neville M. Gertze.



Namibia's diplomatic relations with Germany have had their challenges and opportunities. After Namibia gained independence in 1990, the country established diplomatic relations with Germany.

Germany colonised Namibia in 1884, and for this reason the relationship between the countries needed to be re-established in a new and positive manner. The SWAPO leadership in exile worked closely with leading personalities of the Sozialdemokratische Partei Deutschlands (SPD/Social Democratic Party of Germany), the Green Party, and the long-serving German Foreign Minister, Hans-Dietrich Genscher. This relationship extended to working with churches, student/youth and solidarity organisations, foundations and other non-governmental organisations (NGOs).

Herr Genscher and leading personalities within the SPD played a vital role in facilitating meetings between SWAPO and German leaders and institutions in Namibia.